Tommy Davis Returns To Lineup

NEWARK, N.J. – It was almost a year since Tommy Davis pulled on a Princeton jersey for a game.

Davis last played on Nov. 16, when Princeton hosted Harvard, before an upper-body injury sidelined him for the rest of the season.

On Sunday, Davis returned.

“I felt pretty good out there,” Davis said. “I don’t really have any symptoms anymore, my head’s feeling good, it was good to get on the ice again.”

After missing most of the 2013-14 season, Davis sat out on Friday night before facing Merrimack, a team that had already played six games heading into Sunday’s contest.

The sophomore defenseman said adjusting to the speed was the most difficult aspect of his return.

“Practice is one thing, but a game, especially against a team that’s been playing games now for almost a month, is a different level,” Davis said. “The first period is definitely an adjustment, but I settled in. I didn’t play my best, but it’s a process. We’re a young team.”

Davis missed last season’s Liberty Hockey Invitational with an injury. He played in his first collegiate game on Nov. 1 and appeared in seven games in the season.

“I never really got used the old systems,” Davis said. “But these are our first two games, and my first game, so it’s definitely an adjustment. I’ve done these systems in practice but in a game I haven’t yet so it’s a little bit of an adjustment there.”

 

Against Merrimack, Davis appeared on a pairing with fellow New Jersey native and freshman Joe Grabowski.

“He’s a good, young player,” Davis said. “He has his head up all get and he likes to throw his body, moves the puck well, so it was easy to play with him.”

After missing the last 24 games, Davis finished with a penalty, a shot on goal and a minus-one rating in the 6-1 loss to Merrimack.

 

 

“He’s still learning it,” Fogarty said. “He’s done a great job in practice, he got caught up.”

Leave a comment